Alaska Zip Codes by City

By | February 1, 2023

Alaska is a large and diverse state, with many zip codes in different regions of the state. The largest zip code in Alaska is 99501, located in Anchorage. This zip code covers most of the city, including downtown, midtown, and south Anchorage. Other major zip codes are located in Fairbanks (99709), Juneau (99801), Wasilla (99654), and Palmer (99645). These zip codes cover large portions of their respective cities and surrounding areas. In addition to these major cities, there are several smaller communities throughout Alaska that have their own unique zip codes. For example, the small town of Kodiak has its own zip code of 99615. This small community is located on Kodiak Island off the southwest coast of Alaska and has a population of just over 6,000 people. Additionally, other smaller towns such as Homer (99603) and Sitka (99835) each have their own unique zip codes as well.

Alaska Map

List of all zip codes for the state of Alaska, AK. Sorted by city. For each zip code listed, names of city and county are provided. For specific information of each postal code, please click the following links for Alaska zip codes.

  • ABBREVIATIONFINDER: Find the most commonly used abbreviations about the state of Alaska. We offer a comprehensive list of major cities, state profile, common acronyms and map of Alaska.
  • COUNTRYAAH: How many airports are there in Alaska? Here, you will find a full list of all airports in alphabetical order as well as airport abbreviations for Alaska.

List of Zip Codes in Alaska by City

Note: Check COUNTRYAAH for top 10 cities in the state of Alaska.

The top five cities in Alaska are Anchorage, Juneau, Fairbanks, Sitka and Ketchikan. Anchorage is the largest city in the state and it is known as the “City of Lights”. It is located on the Cook Inlet and has a population of about 300,000 people. The city is home to many cultural attractions such as the Alaska Native Heritage Center and the Alaska Zoo. It also boasts some of the best outdoor activities in North America including fishing, snowmobiling, skiing and hiking. Juneau is the capital of Alaska and it sits at the base of Mt. Juneau. This picturesque city has a population of over 32,000 people and offers a variety of attractions such as whale watching tours, kayaking trips and glacier hikes. Fairbanks sits at the confluence between two rivers – Chena River and Tanana River – and is known for its beautiful Northern Lights displays during winter months. The city has a population of approximately 33,000 people who enjoy activities like dog sledding, snowshoeing or ice fishing during winter months. Sitka is located on Baranof Island off Alaska’s south coast and it has a population of over 8,500 people. It features some great natural attractions like Totem Park which preserves traditional totem poles carved by local Tlingit Indians or St. Michael’s Cathedral which was built in 1848 by Russian traders who were seeking to expand their influence in North America. Finally, Ketchikan is located on Revillagigedo Island on Alaska’s Inside Passage coast line with a population of around 8300 people. This small community offers unique experiences like visiting Creek Street where you can learn about its colorful past or going bear viewing with a local guide near Annette Island Reserve. All these cities offer something special for any traveler looking for an unforgettable experience when visiting Alaska!

29 Counties

Alaska is home to a total of 29 counties, all of which are divided into two distinct regions; the mainland and the Aleutian Islands. The mainland region is made up of 15 counties, including Anchorage, Fairbanks North Star, Matanuska-Susitna, Kenai Peninsula, and Valdez-Cordova. Anchorage is Alaska’s most populous county with a population of over 300,000 people. It is also home to the state capital and largest city in the state, Juneau. Fairbanks North Star County is located in central Alaska and has a population of over 100,000 people. Matanuska-Susitna County covers a large area that stretches from Anchorage to Palmer and Wasilla. Kenai Peninsula County borders Cook Inlet on the south coast and contains some of Alaska’s most beautiful scenery. Valdez-Cordova County is located in the far north of Alaska and contains some of Alaska’s most rugged terrain.

The Aleutian Islands Region consists of 14 counties located off the west coast of Alaska in the Bering Sea. These counties include Aleutians East Borough, Kodiak Island Borough, Prince Wales Ketchikan Borough, Kodiak Island Borough, Dillingham Census Area, Denali Borough and Bethel Census Area. Aleutians East Borough is home to over 8500 people who are largely dependent on fishing for their livelihoods. Kodiak Island Borough is one of Alaska’s most remote areas with a population just under 15000 people living on its two main islands; Kodiak Island and Afognak Island. Prince Wales Ketchikan Borough has a population just under 7000 people spread across three main islands; Prince Wales Island being the largest island in this region with an area larger than Rhode Island. The remaining seven counties make up what is known as “the Bush” or “the Interior” which includes some of Alaska’s most remote areas that can only be accessed by plane or boat travel during certain times in summer months due to extremely cold temperatures during winter months making it impossible for road access year round.


Alaska Zip Codes