Missouri History

By | October 15, 2021

Missouri is a state in the United States. The state capital is Jefferson City, while Kansas City is the largest city. In 2006, the state had 5.8 million residents.

Missouri is the state that (along with Tennessee) borders most other states in the United States. Missouri borders north to Iowa, on the other side of the Mississippi River east to Illinois, Kentucky and Tennessee, south to Arkansas and west to Oklahoma, Kansas, and on the other side of the Missouri River to Nebraska.

The state is named after the Indian tribe Siouan’s words ouemessourita ( wimihsoorita ), which means ” those who have hollowed out canoes “.

Missouri was called the “Gateway to the West” because the state was often a departure point for settlers heading west. It was also the starting and ending point for the Lewis and Clark expedition. See directoryaah for museums in Missouri.


1764 – Byen St. Louis was founded by the French fur hunter and fur trader Pierre Laclède and Rene Auguste Chouteau. He founded a trading post on the spot. At this time, the city was in Louisiana territory under Spanish control; however, most of the residents were French.

1796 – Daniel Morgan Boone moves to Missouri to build a cabin in Defiance.

1803 – Napoleon sells the Louisiana Territory to the United States, and in 1804 the Lewis and Clark Expedition from St. Louis Louis.

1811-12 – The New Madrid earthquakes occur. These were the worst earthquakes in U.S. history. Read more here.

1821 – Missouri is admitted as the 24th state of the United States on August 10th.

1830s – Mormon settlers arrived in the early 1830s, and not long after, conflicts arose between the “ancient” settlers from the southern states and the Mormons. The Mormon War broke out on August 6, 1838, ended on November 1, and by 1839, Mormons had been expelled from Missouri.

1968 – The Arch, the highest public monument in the United States, is 630 feet (approx. 192m), and built of steel girders, clad on the outside with stainless steel, which in sunshine gets a whitish tinge, was completed from 1961-68 on the the place where Pierre Laclede Liquest originally founded the fur trade and the settlement that later developed into St. Louis.


US Virgin Islands is a archipelago in the Caribbean Sea. The archipelago is a territory under the United States, and consists of the three islands of St. Croix, St. John and St. Thomas. The US Virgin Islands are part of a larger archipelago called the Virgin Islands. The second part is called the British Virgin Islands. West of the US Virgin Islands is Puerto Rico.


1500 BCE – The island has been inhabited by various West Indian Indians. The first were the Ciboney people. They were later replaced by first the Arawaks and then the Caribbean; These were quickly exterminated when colonists came to St. Thomas.

1000 BCE – The first people arrived at Skt. John and established a town on Salt Pond Bay.

500 BCE – The ancestors of the Taino Indians arrived in Skt. John ; the indigenous people were either killed or assimilated.

1000 – The Taino Indians arrive at Skt. John. Read more here.

1492 – When Columbus first arrives in the area, there are five Taino kingdoms. The largest population around this time was probably around 3,000 Indians.

1493 – When Columbus on his second voyage to America discovered St. Thomas, it remained uncolonized for a century. It was not until 1666 that the first Danish colonists arrived. They were merely forerunners of the colonists who were sent by the Danish West India Company in 1670, where it was established that the island belonged to Denmark.

1672 – The Danish company West Indies-Guinea Company annexes the uninhabited island of Skt. Thomas. It was the first of Denmark’s three island colonies, where Dannebrog was hoisted in 1666.

1684 – The English prevented the Danes’ attempt to settle on Skt. Thomas.

1718 – The Danes annexed the other uninhabited island of Skt. Jan. Construction of a fort was commenced, and plantations

1733 – Skt. Croix was bought from the French West India Company. In 1755, the three islands were taken over by the king of Denmark-Norway from the actually bankrupt company. The Danish West Indies were occupied by Great Britain in the period 1802–1803 and 1807–1815 in connection with the English Wars.

On November 23, 1733, 150 Akwamu slaves rebelled against their owners and aides on the island’s plantations. It lasted several months until August 1734, when the slaves were defeated by French and Swiss troops sent from Martinique, the French colony, in late May.

19th century – Denmark tried on several occasions to sell or exchange the Danish West Indies away in the late 19th century and early 20th century, to the United States and the German Confederation, respectively. The islands were eventually sold for $ 25 million to the United States, which took over the administration on March 31, 1917, naming them the US Virgin Islands. The United States wanted to make sure that it did not fall into German hands.

Missouri History