Niger Domestic Politics

By | May 10, 2021

On 24 November 2020 the former President Mamdou Tandja died. Tandja has been politically involved since 1974; the positive marks he left during his tenure were, for example, the social plan, through which he promoted rural development before urban development. The fact that he wanted to obtain a third term as president brought his political career to an end with a coup.

In his address at the turn of the year 2019/2020, President Mamadou Issoufou addressed words to the Nigerien people and – among other things – took stock of his reign.

President Mamadou Issoufou was re-elected for a second legislative period in March 2016 with 92.4%. The turnout of 59% is doubted by the opposition, which called for a boycott for the runoff election. Politicians said that the result did not reflect reality. Many of Issoufou’s (former) companions are disappointed with his first term in office and have low hopes for the mandate that follows. Even if Issoufou was seen as the favorite of the presidential elections, opposition candidate Hama Amadou was never seen as without a chance.

Brigi Rafini was also reappointed Prime Minister in spring 2016. In October 2016, the MNSD joined the government and received six ministerial posts; Seini Oumarou, a former prime minister, was given the post of representative of the head of state.

In Niger, on December 17, 2015, a planned coup was thwarted and four senior military officials were arrested.

In March 2014, students protested – sometimes violently – against the government and the uranium giant AREVA. This was preceded by demonstrations by students and ONGs in January 2014. The new contracts between AREVA through its two subsidiaries Cominak and Somair and the Nigerien state, which were concluded in May 2014 and finally confirmed by the state in October, mean that Niger can expect higher tax revenues. AREVA plans to invest 117 million euros, including in repairing the road between Tahoua and Arlit. However, a number of subcontractors fell victim to the profitability adjustments at AREVA.


According to dentistrymyth, elections in Niger have been more or less democratic since 1965.

The first relatively free and fair elections took place in 2004. For the first time there were 13 women among the MPs. President Tandja had made himself popular mainly by setting up a new program shortly after taking office for the first time in 2001 (” le program sp├ęcial de pr├ęsident “). After the referendum on August 4, 2009, with which Tandja changed the constitution so that he was allowed three more years of government, parliamentary elections were held in autumn 2009.

On February 18, 2010, Tandja was then put out of office. After a political transition phase, local and regional elections were held in early 2011. The presidential elections of 2011 were considered exemplary. Former Prime Minister in the Tandja government, Hama Amadou was one of the candidates. Mahamadou Issoufou with 36% and Seini Oumarou with 23% of the votes emerged from the first round. Hama Amadou came up with almost 20%. Issoufou clearly won the runoff election that had become necessary with 58%.

For the nomination for the presidential election of 2016, 10 candidates stood up to the deadline, among them Hama Amadou. The fever of the presidential elections heated up Niger in February 2016; the population demonstrated for credible and fair elections. Moden Fa Lumana had to go through the election campaign without her presidential candidate Hama Amadou. After returning to Niger from exile in France, he has been in prison since November 14, 2015 on charges of baby trafficking. In contrast to 2011, no women ran as a candidate in 2016.

The National Assembly has 171 seats since the last general election in 2016; this is to meet the key that there should be one MP for every 100,000 residents. The seats are distributed according to departments and regions (158 seats), plus 8 seats for ethnic minorities and five for migrants from abroad; the parties are like (a selection) follows represents:

  • PNDS-Tarayya – 75 seats
  • Moden FA Lumana – 25 seats
  • MNSD-Nassara – 20 seats
  • MPR-Jamhuriya – 13 seats
  • MNRD-H. / PSDN-A. – 6 seats
  • MPN-Kiishin cash desk – 5 seats
  • ANDP Zaman Lahiya – 4 seats
  • RSD-Gaskiya – 4 seats
  • CDS-Rahama – 3 seats

The new electoral term for Niger will be 2020/2021: the first round of the presidential election will take place on December 27th. Mahmadou Issouffou underlined that he would not enforce a third term; Mohamed Bazoum, the current Minister of the Interior, is preferred as his successor and candidate for the PNDS.

The municipal elections took place in Niger on December 13, 2020.

Despite the late opening of the election offices, the lack of material and other mishaps, the will of the population to participate in the election is expressed with a high turnout. Really new faces have not appeared on the political stage: Mohamed Bazoum; Albade Abouba and Hama Amadou former President of the National Assembly. The final result of the presidential election is still awaited. The preliminary result shows Mohamed Bazoum as the winner; there will be a second round of voting in February 2021. The increasing engagement of women is remarkable.

Niger State coat of arms